This Visitor Attraction Directory Listing provides all the current attractions in the overall Marlborough Area Visitor Attraction Directory in alphabetical order.
Click on an individual attraction name to view the full detail of the entry.
|Avebury Manor and Gardens
|Avebury Manor was the subject of a unique collaboration with the BBC. The lives and stories of the house's many owners were brought to life by the use of interior design, including the creation of many new pieces.
|Avebury Stone Circle
|World-famous stone circle and on-site museum at the heart of a prehistoric landscape
|Battle of Marlborough: Blue Plaque B
Near this place, on 5th December 1642, a Royalist army fought their way into the town and defeated the Parliamentary garrison.
|Blue Plaque walk
|This circular walk, which starts at the Town Hall at the east end of the High Street, provides a gentle stroll of about 2.5km and shows you some of the history of Marlborough through the nine Blue Plaques that are displayed throughout the Town.
|Christchurch, New Road, Marlborough
Christchurch is a Methodist church with its entrance in New Road, Marlborough.
A stretch of easily accessible chalk stream and the adjoining water meadow in the centre of Marlborough.
|Crofton Beam Engines
|Come and visit the oldest working steam engines in the world still performing the job they were built to do! The engines and café are open every day from March to October with a number of special steaming weekends.
|Eglantyne Mary Jebb: Blue Plaque E
Eglantyne Mary Jebb (1876-1928), founder of the 'Save The Children Fund' taught in this building when it was St Peter's School.
|Great Fire of Marlborough: Blue Plaque H
The Great Fire of Marlborough began near this place on 28th April 1653 at the house of Francis Freemen, tanner:
"where in three hours were consumed at least 250 houses"
|Hancock brothers: Blue Plaque I
Thomas Hancock (1786-1865), inventor of the vulcanisation process for rubber, and his brother Walter Hancock (1799-1852), inventor of the passenger steam road carriage, lived here.
|Samuel Pepys: Blue Plaque D
In 1668 Samuel Pepys, the diarist, stayed in this building which was previously part of the 'Hart' inn and found:
"a pretty fair town for a street or two" with "pent-houses supported with pillars which makes it a good walk"
|Science Museum Wroughton
|The Science Museum at Wroughton, near Swindon, is the large-object store of the Science Museum. It is part of the National Museum of Science and Industry. The science Museum offers a wide range of exhibits to explore: over 18,000 objects from transport, space technology & fire fighting to agricultural machinery. Tours must be booked in advance.
|Shakespeare's company: Blue Plaque C
The Lord Chamberlain's Men (Shakespeare's company) performed in the courtyard of The White Hart through this archway in the 1590's.
"All the world's a stage"
|The largest man-made mound in Europe, mysterious Silbury Hill compares in height and volume to the roughly contemporary Egyptian pyramids. Probably completed in around 2400 BC, it apparently contains no burial. Though clearly important in itself, its purpose and significance remain unknown.
|St. George's Church, Preshute
St George's is a small country church adjacent to Marlborough College, a short walk from the centre of Marlborough and near the village of Manton with the river Kennet running just behind the church.
|St. Mary's Church, Marlborough
St Mary's, Marlborough is situated in the town centre at the east end of the High Street. The church is open every day from 7.30am to 5.00pm. Visitors appreciate the calm but welcoming atmosphere of the light and spacious interior.
|St. Peter's Church, Marlborough
The St Peter's Trust (Charity No. 275557) formed in 1978 when the church was threatened with at least partial demolition, now it manages the building as a community centre in the interests of both those who live in Marlborough and the many visitors to the Town.
|St. Thomas More Church, George Lane, Marlborough
The Roman Catholic Church of St. Thomas More, part of the Diocese of Clifton, is in George Lane, Marlborough which runs to the south and parallel with the High Street.
|Statutes of Marlborough: Blue Plaque F
The Statutes of Marlborough 1267, Henry III: an Act of Parliament passed in the Great Hall of Marlborough Castle near this place.
"He made many statutes for the betterment of his realm and the manifestation of Common Justice"
|Steam Museum of The Great Western Railways
|Housed in a beautifully restored Grade II railway building in the heart of the former Swindon railway works.
Stonebridge Meadow, part of Stonebridge Wild River Reserve, is a short walk from the centre of Marlborough, situated between St Martin’s and London Road.
|The Merchant's House
A glorious restoration of a 17th century silk merchant’s house. Situated on Marlborough’s famous High Street, visitors can see the on going restoration of the house – a substantial amount of original features have been revealed, including unique wall paintings.
|Thomas Wolsey ordained: Blue Plaque G
Thomas Wolsey (1473-1530), Cardinal, Archbishop of York and Lord Chancellor of England, was ordained as a priest in St Peter's church on 10th March 1498.
|West Kennet Long Barrow
|Neolithic tomb or barrow, situated on a prominent chalk ridge, near Silbury Hill, one-and-a-half miles south of Avebury.
|William Golding house: Blue Plaque A
William Golding: 1911-1993 author and Nobel Literature Laureate lived in a house by The Green in Marlborough.
"Our house was on The Green, that close-like square, tilted south"
|Set high above the village of Wilton, about 9 miles south east of Marlborough in Wiltshire, Wilton Windmill is the only working windmill in Wessex and still produces wholemeal, stone-ground flour.
Other listings are available to help you find a specific visitor attraction as follows: